Only God Knows (A Song to Sing)

I’ve been sittin’ here; trying to find myself; i get behind myself; i need to rewind myself; looking for the payback; listen for the playback; they say that every man; bleeds just like me; and i feel like number one; but yet i’m last in line; i watch my younger son; and it helps to pass the time; i take to many pills; it helps to ease the pain; i made a couple dollar bills; but still i feel the same; everybody knows my name; they say it way out loud; a lot of folks fuck with me; it’s hard to hang out in crowds; i guess that’s the price you pay; to be some big shot like i am; out skirt stands and one night stands; still i can’t find love . . .

And when your walls come tumbling down . . . I will always be around . . .

People don’t know about the things; i say and do they don’t understand; about the shit that i’ve; been through, it’s been so long; since i’ve been home i’ve been gone; i’ve been gone for way too long; maybe i forgot all the things I miss; Oh somehow I know there’s more to life; than this, I said it too many times; and i still stand firm you get what; you put in and people get what they; deserve, still i ain’t seen mine; No I ain’t seen mine; I’ve been giving just ain’t been gettin’; I’ve been walking down that line; So I think I’ll keep walking
with my head held high; i’ll keep moving on and only God; knows why . . .

Only God… only God ; Only God knows why; Only God… knows … why, why, why only
God knows why; Take me to the river hey; Take me to the river . . .

 

 

About this entry